Small Town Blogging

My take on things

The clubhouse has taken a hit!

If you read about my time spent building my daughter’s clubhouse last spring you’ll know that I was pretty proud of that bit of work. They loved it and my eldest even started a “Clubhouse Kids” and invited many friends to come over on Tuesdays and Fridays. They would play out in the clubhouse and do various crafts and hobbies such as finger painting, scrap-booking, and various science activities like studying bugs or examining plants and leaves. All in all it was a great success (although both girls are still pushing for a second story observation deck and/or taking over the shed as a new clubhouse which is about twice as big!)

So you can imagine my disappointment this winter to come home after a particularly rough storm to find a limb about 8 inches across and 4 feet long sticking straight down through the roof! Thankfully it did not puncture through the dry wall ceiling inside, but it did rip through the shingles and the plywood roof. I stretched a tarp over it until I could get at it when the weather warmed a bit, but I think the clubhouse was only a prelude to more damage to come. My gutters are taking a beating!

But that is a story for another time when I break out the ladders and supplies to fix things this spring.

February 26, 2008 Posted by | Discussion, Do It Yourself, For the Kids | , , , | Leave a comment

Guess I really should take more time here

Guess I should spend at least a little more time updating my blogs. My poor wife hears all my thoughts and keeps telling me “Your preaching to the choir” so to spare her from my rants I’ll make more effort to post here.

February 26, 2008 Posted by | Discussion | | Leave a comment